About Me

I am a 23-year-old college graduate living in Texas.  I work as a freelance copyeditor and am looking for full-time employment.  Obviously, I spend a great deal  of time reading and writing about reading.  In addition to the type of books I review here and at TGTBTU, I also read graphic novels, manga, manhwa, independent comics, and webcomics.  My favorite webcomics are Less Than Epic, an expressively drawn and perfectly paced road trip romance, and Questionable Content, a slice-of-life series about hipsters in Northampton with some fantastic elements.  I have an addiction to movie reviews, The Onion, and regularly read newspaper articles in an attempt to keep up with current events.

One of my favorite things to do is travel. I studied abroad in England (Brasenose College, Oxford University) and I've made short jaunts to Germany and Canada. I've been to exactly half of the states and hope to see all of them eventually. Most of my travel is done by car - I've been doing my share of driving during road trips since I received my learners' permit at fifteen. I wish I spoke more languages, but I'm restricted to English, broken Spanish, and a few horribly accented phrases in Mandarin Chinese. Luckily, I've yet to go anywhere that requires anything more.

I enjoy dance. I took ice skating lessons for a couple of years before elementary and took up competitive ice skating drill team during the early elementary years. That turned into an interest in ballet, which I tookk until I had to give it up in high school. I started at Adamson Ballet School and continued at The Gayle Corkery School of Ballet. When I quit I was at what the school currently refers to as "Level B." I took a few ballroom classes in college in order to dance.  I doubt I'll ever stop dancing for fun, although I look a little strange when my ballet technique begins to sneak in.  I do appreciate my years in ballet for the discipline it instilled and the friends I made.  I also feed my need for dance by reading books about dancers.

I may not be able to carry a tune in a bucket, but I love listening to music and making music.  I can play guitar, although I haven't practiced in ages.  I played in the percussion section of the school band from middle school through high school.  I also played the vibraphone for the high school jazz band, wherein I played a professional gig and won a soloist award.  I went to state in TSSEC (Texas State Solo and Ensemble) multiple times, which was great fun, but all my best memories are from drumline and drumline competition.  You get extremely close to people when you see them for four hours every other day after school.  On the listening side of things, my taste varies.  The band years left me with a love of classical and jazz.  My parents socialized me to like New Wave, punk, alternative rock, and all sorts of other things.  My friends introduced me to indie and J-Rock.  If it's got a great beat and real instruments, chances are I'll like it.  I'm also partial to female rock vocalists.  One of the best things about going to college in Austin was the many concerts I was able to attend.

Since I am a total nerd, I find most academic subjects fun.  I like to read about developments in genetic engineering and then ask my former roommate to explain the more technical parts.  I wish there were math competitions for adults.  I haven't taken a math class since Calculus III at the end of my freshman year and I'm sure I'm getting rusty.  Plus I have very rosy memories of math competitions in high school. (I did already own up to being a nerd, didn't I?) I do not have rosy memories of attending Academic State in Mathematics since my high school put us up in one of the world's scuzziest hotels. (And believe me: I know scuzzy hotels.)

I like spending time with children; however, I don't currently intend to have any of my own.  (I know that sounds awkward but I'm getting to the age where people start asking questions about this . . . which is more awkward.) I took a course in Basic Aid from the Red Cross during my time in Girl Scouts and should probably do a CPR course now that I'm old enough.  I also took an elective child development/home ec class way back in junior high.  I use those bits of knowledge to convince people to pay me to watch their children.  I also have a great deal of experience since I take care of my niece and nephew close to full time.

I think I sound boring, but my friends always reassure me that I'm not.  Apparently I'm a terrific conversationalist despite my penchant for puns and other bad jokes.

LinkWithin

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...